Minutes Bike to the Future AGM Thursday May 10, 2007 Manitoba ECO Centre

1) Welcome

The AGM was called to order at 5:45

2) Round Table Introductions

Introductions were made in a round table fashion.

Present: Rob Cosco, Jackie Avent, Don English, Kevin Miller, Ben Goldstein, Brion Dolenko, David Hubbard, Ian Tizzird (possibly Tizzard), Molly McCracken, Kevin Nixon, Tim Hunt, Gord McGonigal, Glenn Stanley, Liz Dykman, Bev Peters, Ken Gerrard, Janice Lukes, Donna Evans, Curt Hull, Mark Cohoe, Chris Lyon, Howard Skrypnyk, Dave Elmore, Jim Chapryk, Kaj Hasselriis, Anders Swanson, Karin Kliewer, Alain Foidart, Kate Dykman

Regrets: Bill Spomitz, Gareth Simons, Jeremy Hull, James Elmore, Cory Bellhouse, Liisa Halstead

3) BTTF Background

Molly McCracken gave a brief introduction to Bike to the Future.

- Manitoba Cycling Association Recreation and Transportation Committee has been providing cycling advocacy in Winnipeg for a number of years
- Critical Mass rides in summer of 2006 put cycling in the public eye and served as an impetus for further action
- Meetings in Old Market Square evolved into BTTF forum held at U. of W.
- BTTF started meeting regularly at ECO Centre 2nd Tuesday of each month
- A number of committees have been formed and members have been actively advocating and taking part in regional trails groups
 - City Committee
 - Provincial Committee
 - Trails Groups
 - Website Group
 - Safety & Education
 - Development of Partnerships
 - o Winnipeg Trails Association
 - o One Green City

4) Announcements

Upcoming Events and Volunteer Opportunities

"Dummies Guide" to Active Transportation – Free Public Event

PACM is holding this event to help promote active transportation. BTTF will have a table at the event, and we are looking for volunteers to act as valets for bike parking to be provided at the event. Visit the Upcoming events portion of our website for full details. When: May 16th, 6-9pm

Where: Robert A. Steen Community Centre, 980 Palmerston

International Trails Day

Winnipeg Trails Association will be celebrating International Trails Day at the Forks on Saturday June 2nd. Bike to the Future will be holding a Safety Jam and guiding rides leading from the Forks. See the website for links and details; contact Jackie if you'd like to help out.

When: Saturday June 2^{nd} , starting at xxx **Where**: The Forks

Next Meeting

We will be holding our summer meetings at Old Market Square to take advantage of the weather.

When: Tuesday June 12th, 5:30pm

Where: Old Market Square

Rain location: ECO-Centre, 3rd floor MEC building, 303 Portage Avenue.

Spin 2

Bishop Grandin Greenway Trials Association will be holding Spin 2, a ride along the Bishop Grandin Greenway to promote cycling. The ride will be approximately 9km

When: Thursday May 31st, 6:30pm

Meet: Parking Lot, Southdale Community Centre, 254 Lakewood Boulevard **Finishes**: Parking Lot, Winnipeg Technical College, 400 Scurfield Blvd

Provincial Survey

Mark Cohoe discussed the provincial committee's survey of Provincial Party cycling policies and consequent responses.

5) By-Laws – Review and Vote

Ben Goldstein asked if everyone had read the by-laws Gord MgGonigal and Jackie Avent discussed the By-Laws.

- AGM must be held every 15 months
- Fairly generic by-laws, with two main changes
 - o 2 Co-Chairs instead of a president
 - o Instils the notion of a consensus based organization
 - o 75% majority required if no consensus can be found

The plan is to have the next AGM in the fall, with the norm being a once yearly AGM to be held in the fall.

Motion: Be it resolved that the By-Laws presented be adopted as the By-Laws of Bike to the Future. Moved: Jackie Avent Seconded: Dave Elmore Carried

6) Board Slate – Vote for First Board Members

Motion: That nominations for directors be closed Moved: Mark Cohoe Seconded: Jim Chapryk Carried

Motion: That the slate of directors presented be elected Co-Chairs – Jackie Avent and Kevin Miller Secretary – Gord McGonigal Treasurer – Curt Hull City Committee – Rob Cosco Provincial Committee – Jeremy Hull Website/Communications – Ben Goldstein Membershio Committee – Liisa Halstead Events/Fundraising Committee – Molly McCracken Safety/Education Committee – Dave Elmore Member at Large: Karin Kliewer Member at Large: Cory Bellhouse Moved: Tim Hunt Seconded: Bev Peters Carried

7) Motion to Adjourn

Moved: Ben Goldstein Seconded: Jackie Avent Carried