Bike to the Future – 2011 Annual General Meeting

Tuesday, November 22, 2011, 5:30 PM Sport For Life Centre

Minutes

Members present (29): Kevin Miller (Meeting Chair), Dave Elmore, Loren Braul, Tom McMahon, Vicky Reaney, Curt Hull, Mark Cohoe, Liz Erickson, Charles Feaver, Bill Newman, Rosanne Ritchot (Office Administrator), Chris Chypyha, Barrett Ens, Janice Lukes, Philip Wolfart, Shannon Keys, Gareth Simons, Bryan Goods, Nathan Wild, Bev Peters, Anita Miller, Ted Mann, Guy Madill, Maureen Peniuk, Kaye Grant, Gary Laio, Cara Fisher, George Clark, Bob Kury Members regrets (5): Mark Wiehler, Jeremy Hull, Jackie Avent, Don English, Kevin Champagne Non-members present (5): Paula Hrynkow, Bill Edmonds, Kaleigh Christie, Jay Kraut, Joel Stelpstra

1. Welcome & Introductions

- The AGM was called to order at 5:40 PM.
- Kevin explained the purpose of an AGM, outlined the agenda, explained our new lifetime memberships, mentioned that we are selling memberships / accepting donations, and covered other meeting admin things.

2. Adoption of minutes from the 2010 AGM on November 23, 2010

Motion to adopt the minutes (biketothefuture.org/about/annual-general-meeting).

Moved: Dave Elmore. Seconded: Mark Cohoe. Passed with consensus.

3. Celebration of Achievements / Presentation of Directors' Annual Reports

- Safety & Education Committee: Dave Elmore (report attached)
- City Committee: Mark Cohoe (report attached)
- **Provincial Committee:** Charles Feaver (report attached)
- Grants received and their uses: Vickey Reany & Liz Erickson (oral report, see Financial Statement)
- Bicycle Valet Winnipeg: Rosanne Ritchot (oral report)
 - 28 events, 2700 bikes parked, 25 active volunteers
- 2011 Winnipeg Cycling Map, 4th annual Bike to Work Day, misc achievements: Kevin Miller (oral report) Motion to accept all reports. Moved: Kevin Miller. Seconded: Bill Newman. Passed with consensus.

4. Presentation of Annual Financial Statements

Treasurer Liz Erickson delivered year-end financial statement – April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2011 (see attached). **Motion** to accept the statement. **Moved:** Liz Erickson. **Seconded:** Charles Feaver. **Passed with consensus.**

5. Discussion and adoption of proposed changes to BttF's Organizational By-laws

- Loren Braul reviewed the <u>proposed amendments</u>. A few minor changes were suggested and made. **Motion** to accept the amendments. **Moved:** Loren Braul. **Seconded:** Liz Erickson. **Passed with consensus.**
- BttF's Organizational By-laws (2011) can be read at biketothefuture.org/about.

6. Election of a new Board of Directors

Board of Directors slate:

- Co-Chair: Loren Braul (was a Director entering the 2nd year of his term)
- Co-Chair: Tom McMahon (was a Director entering the 2nd year of his term)
- Secretary: Kevin Miller (was Co-Chair, completed term)
- Treasurer: Liz Erickson (is re-running)
- Directors:
 - o Mark Cohoe (is entering the 2nd year of his term)
 - Shona Kusyk (is entering the 2nd year of her term)
 - Bill Newman (is entering the 2nd year of his term)
 - Dave Elmore (is re-running)
 - Charles Feaver (is re-running)
 - Curt Hull (was Co-Chair, completed term)
 - Chris Chypyha (has been nominated)
 - Barrett Ens (has been nominated)

There were no other nominations, so the Board of Directors was acclaimed.

Thanks to the departing Board Members for their service to Bike to the Future:

Vicky Reaney (Director 2009 to 2010, Secretary 2010 to 2011), Mark Wiehler (Director 2009 to 2011)

8. Call for adjournment at 7:13 PM

Moved: Tom McMahon. Seconded: Loren Braul. Passed with consensus.